h1

Your Big Break? Portfolio Reviews at ’08 San Diego Comic-Con

July 16, 2008

Virgin Comics will be holding portfolio reviews at the 2008 San Diego International Comic-Con. If you are interested in having your work reviewed by one of Virgin Comics’ editors, please read all of the information below.

Sign-up:

Virgin Comics’ portfolio reviews will be happening ONLY on Friday, July 25 and Saturday, July 26. Candidates can sign up for an appointment spot beginning Thursday at 9:00 am. Sign-ups are on a first come, first serve basis. Each spot will be assigned a specific time, however, we recommend that candidates show up well in advance of their appointed time. Candidates late for their appointment will have their spot given away.

Waiting List:

Only candidates who get on the sign-up list are guaranteed a portfolio review. However, there is a possibility that, dependent on time, additional candidates might be able to get reviews. Waiting list candidates should be present for the entire review period.

What you should bring:

When candidates sign up for a review, they should take and fill out a Materials Submission form. In addition to bringing the form to the review, they should also bring:

- At least five images, with a selection of cover shots, interior pages, and character studies.

- A current resume

The following items are optional, but highly encouraged:

- Copies of some images to leave with the editors (please make sure your name and e-mail is on each page; please note that any copies left with editors will NOT be returned. Editors will NOT accept original artwork).

- A cover image of one of our characters (this is a really easy way to impress us!).

- A business card

Review times:

- Friday, July 25

o 10:00 am – 11:30 am

o 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm

- Saturday, July 26

o 10:00 am – 11:30 am

o 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm

Location:

All reviews, sign-ups, and waiting lists will take place at Virgin Comics’ Booth, #2229.

4 comments

  1. Great! But I’m an italian colorist and cover painter, and this year i can’t go to san diego…How can i show my portfolio?
    Can I send a link?
    Thanks very much


  2. Samehere, I’m an everyone type of guy, I’m Managing Director of Rogue Artists Galleria, where we do dark-skinned South Asian characters with a manga twist.
    I’m also a great photojournalist, editorial cartoonist, penciller, inker, digital colourist etc… But I’m an NRI from Trinidad in the Caribbean

    I’ve been to the Paradise Toronto Comicon this weekend, and will be at Dragoncon in Atlanta this September, but I won’t be going to San Diego.
    How can I not only show my portfolio, but also showcase my Indo-Caribbean colleagues’ amazing work?
    Cheers,
    M


  3. Hi,
    I am an aspiring comic book writer and artist. I am working on my own graphic novel. I am based in India, is there any way I can contact the editors online and show my work?

    Please let me know.

    Thanks,
    Arghya


  4. I am a writer who is looking for information on who, when and where to submit script ideas to at Virgin Comics. I am UK based.
    I look forward to hearing from you soon.
    Thank you



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

